Abstract desktop drives illustration in deep cyan and pale ice blue on white — decorative header for Desktop drives — Specs Compared Against the Class

Desktop hard drives

The ordinary internal 3.5-inch drive, rated for a working day rather than a working year.

A desktop drive is specified for intermittent use, and its workload rating says so. It is the cheapest way to add bulk storage to a machine that gets switched off, and the wrong choice for anything that runs continuously — not because it will fail immediately, but because its rated duty does not cover it.

What an ordinary desktop drive looks like

Median for this class, across 35 drives
Capacity 2 TB
Spindle speed 7,200 RPM
Cache 64 MB
Price per terabyte $60–80 per TB

Medians, with values beyond 1.5× the interquartile range excluded so one listing cannot move them. A class holding fewer than 8 drives publishes no baseline at all.

How this class is distributed

35 drives in this corpus sit in this class. By capacity:

Under 2 TB 12
2 TB to 4 TB 10
4 TB to 8 TB 7
8 TB to 14 TB 6

Rated for a working day, not a working year

The specification that separates a desktop drive from every other class here is its rated annual workload, and it is set for a machine that gets switched off. That is not a warning about immediate failure — a desktop drive run continuously will usually work for a long time — it is a statement about what the manufacturer will stand behind. Running one in a NAS or a recorder is a decision to operate outside the rating, and it is worth making deliberately rather than by accident.

The cheapest way to add bulk storage, up to a point

For a machine that is on for part of the day, a desktop drive is the least expensive route to a large amount of storage, and it is what most internal expansions should be. The point where that stops being true is capacity: price per terabyte falls steeply as drives get larger, and desktop drives sit low in the capacity range here. Two desktop drives are often more expensive, louder and more failure-prone than one larger drive from a class positioned above them.

Spindle speed is the comparison that decides nothing

Buyers are told to compare RPM, and nearly every drive in this corpus turns at the same speed. Where a desktop drive is slower it is usually an older or lower-capacity model rather than a deliberate design, unlike the surveillance class where the lower speed is the point. Comparing spindle speed between two current desktop drives is comparing a number they share, which is why this site leads with price per terabyte instead.

What actually varies in this class

Cache size and sustained transfer rate differ more between desktop drives than spindle speed does, and both are stated less often. Where a listing publishes neither, the honest position is that it has told you the capacity and the price and nothing else — which is a fact about the listing rather than the drive, and the reason this page prints not stated instead of an assumed figure.

Shingled recording, and the word that is missing

Drives record in one of two ways. Conventional recording writes tracks side by side; shingled recording overlaps them like roof tiles to fit more on a platter, which makes rewriting a track require rewriting its neighbours. On sustained writes a shingled drive can slow to a fraction of its rated speed once its cache fills, and in a RAID rebuild that can turn hours into days. The tell is what listings choose to say: in this corpus the term CMR appears roughly twenty times more often than SMR, because conventional recording is advertised as a feature and shingled recording is simply not mentioned. Silence is not evidence of either, but a drive that makes a point of saying CMR is telling you something a drive that says nothing is not.

Recertified and renewed listings

Roughly one listing in seven here is sold as recertified, renewed or manufacturer-refurbished. These are drives that have been returned or pulled from service, tested and resold, and they are usually the cheapest per terabyte on the page. What changes is the warranty — often months rather than years — and what is not disclosed is the hours already on the drive. For storage where the data exists elsewhere, the arithmetic can be sound. For the only copy of anything, buying a drive with an unknown history to save a fraction of its price is a poor trade, and the price per terabyte on this page does not distinguish between the two.

Why the capacity you get is smaller than the one you bought

Drive manufacturers count a terabyte as a trillion bytes; operating systems generally count it as 2^40, about ten per cent more. A 4 TB drive therefore shows as roughly 3.63 TB before a single file is written, and nothing is wrong. Formatting and the file system take a further small share. This is not a specification any listing states and it is the most common reason a new drive appears to have arrived short, so it is worth expecting rather than discovering.

When the drive is full, and what usually goes wrong

The moment a desktop drive fills is when most people first think about storage, and the cheapest-looking answer — add a second drive of the same size — is usually the worst per terabyte. Larger drives cost less per terabyte, so replacing rather than adding is often cheaper as well as quieter and simpler. The migration is the part that gets skipped: cloning to a larger drive needs both connected at once, and the copy should be verified before the original is wiped. A drive bought to solve a full-disk problem has caused a data-loss one more than once.

What the warranty tells you that the specification does not

Desktop drives here carry middling warranties — longer than an external drive, shorter than a NAS or enterprise one. That ordering matches the rated workload almost exactly, and it is not a coincidence: both numbers are the manufacturer describing the same expectation about how hard the drive will be worked. Where two drives look identical on capacity, speed and price, the warranty is often the only line that distinguishes what they were built for, and it is the one a listing states plainly.

Reading these figures

Every number above is a median of what manufacturers publish, not a measurement we took. Where a specification is missing from this table it is because too few listings in the class stated it for a median to mean anything — that is a fact about the listings, not about the drives.

Narrow this class by capacity and budget in the hard drive finder.

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.